RSS

Reflecting on 18 Months of Not Blogging.

22 Jan

I’ve had this blog since August 2007, just a few weeks before I started medical school. I wanted to keep a record of my five years in Glasgow, something that would keep safe all of the lessons and memories and laughter and tears, and the daily and weekly experiences of this fantastic, insane journey I’m on. It didn’t quite work out like that. I wasn’t trying to be a person that I’m not, but I was trying to be the kind of writer that I’m not. I felt like I had to be funny or insightful or wise, all the time. I’m self-critical of my writing at the best of times, but putting those kinds of expectations on myself meant that I posted barely anything at all, and in doing so, I lost what had been my reasons for blogging in the first place. It’s time to get back to that.

If you have been around since the beginning, you might have noticed that my first year posts disappeared over Christmas. I’m making a fresh start. I’m in the middle of second year, and I’ll be writing about that as it happens, as I’ve been trying to for the last ten days or so. But buried deep on my hard drive are jottings and scribblings about some of the things that happened in first year and just never made it quite as far as the internet. I’ll be organising those into something with sentence structure and putting them up, too.

First up, this weekend, will be the MILE.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 22, 2009 in Blog, Medicine

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
