RSS

A Morning in GP Land

16 Feb

The run and the weekend did the trick, and I’m feeling much more like myself today. I still don’t like my SSM, but that’s the way that goes and at least I’m getting a decent amount of revision done. It’s only another two weeks, anyway, and I do have an essay that needs writing…

The highlight of last week was a half-day in clinical practice. It had no real point. It wasn’t even timetabled, I had asked my VS tutor if I could spend the morning in clinic with him before I went absolutely nuts from lack of human contact and he’d agreed, but it was a good day. I went down to the rural-ish practice that I’m based in this year and saw a few patients, and it was a good day. There were some of what I’d imagine are the standard patients for a Monday morning in general practice. There was a very happy, very smiley baby who waved at me a lot. There was an FY2 who I’d not met before, in my previous visits to this practice. I don’t want to be a GP — never have done, and the more I see of it, the more it feels like they’re the ones who get the worst and then some when it comes to targets and busywork and politicians who’ve never heard the expression, ‘if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’. But I enjoy it when I’m there, and I don’t think the proposals of making a GP rotation compulsory in one of the foundation years are such a terrible idea.

I need this, sometimes. Sometimes you can get so entrenched in the detail and the theory and the mind games, even, that it’s very easy to forget what the point of it all is. I just need a couple of hours with patients every now and then, and I remember and I get my motivation back. I’ve never come back from any sort of clinical practice and not been able to say, “Yes, this is what I want to do and this is where I’m meant to be.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 16, 2009 in Blog, Medicine

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
