RSS

A Week In The Life (Monday)

24 Mar

Well, I’ve been wanting to do a week in my life and I realised this morning that this would be the last time I’d be able to do a normal week for my ‘preclinical’ years (if we can call them that). It’s the end of term on Friday, and I’ll come back after Easter to panic and lots of coffee and crazy crazy revision, which is inevitable but not quite normal, and if everything goes as I hope it does, my timetable will look very, very different by the time I next have the chance to do this.

I’m at my least productive on a Monday, and it shows…

*

7.15am: The radio starts talking into my right ear. I wake up for long enough to locate and smack the snooze button. This argument goes on for forty minutes — the absolute latest that I can actually get up if I want breakfast and coffee and to be on time.

8.40am: I leave the flat in a rush, thoroughly unimpressed with the wind and the rain.

9am: Pharmacokinetics FRS. It relates to last week’s PBL and would have been a lot more relevant if it had actually happened then, but I’m glad I came. The notes made precisely no sense when I was reading them through by myself, but the concepts are fairly straightforward once they’ve been explained and it all seems much simpler now that I’ve done some examples. The facilitator is cheerfully pointing out that we’ll do very little if any of the maths that we’re learning today in real life — we’ll look it up in the BNF! It’s true, but, as we all know, written exams rarely bear any resemblance to real life, so I need to understand it anyway.

10.50am: I’m free for a couple of hours, so I take the subway into the city centre. I lost my phone at the weekend, and I need to get a new SIM card from my service provider. I’ve been practically uncontactable for nearly 48 hours and I’m starting to go a little bit nuts.

12.15pm: Time for a quick lunch and email check.

1pm: A lecture on viral hepatitis. According to the block outline we’ve been given, this will help with PBL tomorrow. It’s an interesting subject, and the lecturer keeps it mercifully clinical and doesn’t labour over the molecular pathogenesis of anything.

2.20pm: I reach the SL, where I plan to do some research for the coursework that’s due in at the end of this week. I’m particularly looking for a journal article that I’ve not been able to get into from home, but it quickly becomes clear that I can’t access it even on campus. I start going through PubMed to see if there’s anything else that looks useful, and I find a decent amount of information that should help.

3.45pm: I become distracted by a message about a political issue that means a lot to me, and time slips away…

5.05pm: I left this morning without my swipe card, so I have to pack up and go home before the building gets locked.

5.50pm: My flatmate is in when I get home, so we have coffee and catch each other up on our days and make dinner.

7pm: Unfortunately, back to work. I’ve done most of my PBL, but there are a couple of objectives still left to finish, and, even though I’m not actually going to be in PBL tomorrow to do the feedback, my to-do list for Easter is already as long as my arm and I really don’t want to start adding more catch-up to it. I pull Kumar and Clarke off my shelf and start looking up information about obstructive jaundice and gallstones.

7.45pm: Our internet dies and no amount of poking or rebooting will bring it back to life.

8.41pm: I’ve been on hold with Virgin Tech Support for the past hour or so, trying to fix things. It worked for a brief, shining moment and then died again, and I had to go back into the hold queue. I have now got Gymnopedie on an endless loop in one ear while watching The West Wing on my laptop to pass the time until someone answers the phone.

9.30pm: Finally, the internet is working and I get back to PBL. It turns out that gallstones are more complicated than I thought — for one thing, I didn’t know there were two kinds, which is probably quite an important thing to know.

11.30pm: Shower. Bed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2009 in Blog, Medicine

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
