RSS

A Week in the Life (Friday)

02 Apr

This is the final part of my Week In The Life.

07.45am: The alarm goes off, and I make it out of bed without too much abuse of the snooze button.

08.10am: I consider staying in the SL this afternoon and getting started on the PBL that we’re getting this morning and feeding back on after Easter, but not for long. It’s the beginning of the Easter holidays! This means that I’m not taking my laptop in, which means I need to get my coursework off it, so I boot it up while I’m eating breakfast.

08.55am: A few minutes to get a cup of coffee before heading into PBL.

09.10am: In something of a desultory manner, my group starts doing our feedback. It’s pretty clear that we’ve all done as little as each other for this one, and we stumble around but manage to get through it amid promises to our facilitator that we’ll revisit the subject over Easter.

09.55am: Our new scenario is on chronic pancreatitis. We generate a list of main issues without too many problems: the anatomy and histology of the pancreas, the functions of the pancreas, the control of the pancreas, what we call the Kumar and Clarke of chronic pancreatitis, and issues with patient compliance. A mention is made in the scenario of referring the patient to a dietitian, so I jokingly suggest that we need to look at the role of the dietitian in the management of chronic pancreatitis — it’s a joke because we had a practically identical objective just last week, and when our faciltiator says that we need to do it again, I bang my head on the table.

10.30am: The only thing we really know about the pancreas is how it is involved in the control of blood glucose (which is irrelevant), so the brainstorm sort of fizzles out. Fortunately, you don’t necessarily need to know anything to come up with learning objectives…

10.55am: Leaving PBL, I get roped into doing my travel agent gig for a friend who is travelling to her parents’ today. I worked in public transport in my previous life, and, since I let that slip to people early on in first year, I often find myself doing my old job but for free.

11.30am: Although the coursework is done, it still needs to be printed. It goes smoothly until the last page, when it refuses to print. I’m not sure if this is my lack of print credit or a problem with the colour printer, so I go looking for people I know who might be able to help. I try three separate accounts with no luck, and eventually end up going begging at the office.

11.55am: Signed, stapled, and posted into drop box! My last obligation of the term is fulfilled!

12.45pm: Lunch.

1.30pm: Nap.

4pm: One of our friends arrives, bearing Pyrex containers. Her family are not entirely convinced that my flatmate and I won’t starve, and occasionally they send us food. We love them for this. Today, we have chicken with a sort of vegetable risotto thing, and cake. The cake is amazing.

4.50pm: My flatmate starts packing for her trip home, and I start watching the Law and Order: UK episodes that I’ve missed due to the crazy deadlines these last couple of weeks.

7.05pm: I help my flatmate take her stuff to the bus and we both wonder if she might not possibly need a forklift truck at the other end. You wouldn’t think so much weight would fit into so small a bag, but laptops and textbooks are heavy.

7.55pm: Home. I have dinner (the chicken and risotto thing is also very delicious, probably made more so by the fact that I didn’t have to cook it) and collapse on the sofa and read, and generally enjoy having the flat to myself for a bit.

11.30pm: I take a shower, go to bed, and take great pleasure in turning the alarm off!

I’m leaving at the crack of dawn to travel down to Newcastle for my holiday. The whole concept of a holiday at Easter is sort of a myth, and I’ve packed a ginormous pile of notes and Tortora, but it’ll be nice to relax for a little bit and to see my parents for a while. I haven’t got an internet connection down there, so be excellent to each other and I’ll be back in a week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2009 in Blog, Medicine

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
