RSS

Personal Note

10 Jan

Just as I was getting to grips with the proper beginning of this year, along came December and with it came the Christmas holidays and the turning upside down of my world. I’d planned to spend a couple of weeks in Glasgow and possibly even to get some work done.

Instead, I spent much of last month dealing with the unexpected death of my much beloved grandfather.

He was 81 years old — had fought a lot of battles and had beaten all imaginable odds. He was a great man with a wicked sense of humour and a lot of love to give. He left us with a lot of laughs and a lot of good memories. He had more than his fair share of chronic conditions and as a result spent a great deal of time in and around hospitals, and he loved telling the people he met there that his eldest granddaughter was going to be a doctor.

It’s been a long and difficult month. I’ve been with my family for most of it and I wouldn’t have chosen to be anywhere else, but it’s good to be home and getting back to work and to feel that things are beginning to return to some kind of normality.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2010 in Blog

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Personal Note

  1. Saam

    January 10, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Sorry for your loss again Beth, my thoughts were with you and your family during Christmas. Hope this loss will be your last.

     
  2. Versipellis

    March 9, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    I discovered your blog in passing and really enjoy reading it – it’s a fascinating look at a medical student’s life. Obviously you don’t know me but I wanted to say I’m sorry about your grandfather – I’ve been through the same.

     

Leave a Reply

 
